WYONG SHIRE COUNCIL

MINUTES OF THE

EXTRAORDINARY COUNCIL MEETING OF COUNCIL

HELD IN THE COUNCIL CHAMBER
WYONG CIVIC CENTRE, HELY STREET, WYONG
ON 09 SEPTEMBER 2015
COMMENCING AT 5.00 PM

PRESENT

Councillors D J Eaton OAM (Chairperson), G P Best, R L Graham, K G Greenwald, L A Matthews, L S Taylor, A Troy, D P Vincent and L D Webster.

IN ATTENDANCE

General Manager, Director Development and Building, Director Infrastructure and Operations, Director Property and Economic Development, Director Community and Recreation Services, General Counsel, IT and Operations Manager, Communications Coordinator and three administration staff.

The Mayor, Councillor Eaton OAM, declared the meeting open at 5.01 pm and advised in accordance with the Code of Meeting Practice that the meeting is being recorded.

The Mayor, Councillor Eaton OAM, delivered the opening prayer and Councillor Matthews read an acknowledgment of country statement.

APOLOGY

An apology for the inability to attend the meeting was received on behalf of Councillor Nayna due to work commitments, however, a motion to accept the apology and grant leave of absence was not put forward.

1.1 Disclosure of Interest

RESOLVED unanimously on the motion of Councillor BEST and seconded by Councillor GREENWALD:

895/15 That Council <u>receive</u> the report on Disclosure of Interest and the fact that no disclosure was made be noted.

2.1 Mayoral Minute - Mayoral Report 2014-2015

RESOLVED unanimously on the motion of Councillor EATON:

896/15 That Council <u>adopt</u> the Mayoral report for the past 12 month term, 2014-2015.

3.1 Election of Mayor and Voting Procedure

RESOLVED unanimously on the motion of Councillor BEST and seconded by Councillor TAYLOR:

- 897/15 That Council <u>hold</u> an election for the Office of Mayor by all councillors in accordance with the provisions of Section 290(1)(a) of the Local Government Act 2003.
- 898/15 That Council <u>proceed</u> to elect the Office of Mayor by open voting.
- 899/15 That Council <u>note</u> the election of Mayor will be for the 2015 2016 term.

The General Manager advised that nominations for the position of Mayor had been received for Councillors Eaton and Matthews. Councillors Eaton and Matthews accepted their respective nominations.

The General Manager requested those Councillors supporting the nomination of Councillor Eaton to raise their right hand. Councillors voting in support of Councillor Eaton were Councillors Best, Eaton, Taylor, Troy and Webster.

The General Manager requested those Councillors supporting the nomination of Councillor Matthews to raise their right hand. Councillors voting in support of Councillor Matthews were Councillors Graham, Greenwald, Matthews and Vincent.

Councillor Eaton was declared duly elected to the office of Mayor for the term 2015/2016.

3.2 Election of Deputy Mayor

RESOLVED unanimously on the motion of Councillor BEST and seconded by Councillor TAYLOR:

- 900/15 That Council appoint the position of a Deputy Mayor.
- 901/15 That Council <u>conduct</u> the election of Deputy Mayor in the same manner as the election of Mayor for the 2015 2016 term.

The General Manager advised that nominations for the position of Deputy Mayor had been received for Councillors Webster and Vincent. Councillors Webster and Vincent accepted their respective nominations.

The General Manager requested those Councillors supporting the nomination of Councillor Webster to raise their right hand. Councillors voting in support of Councillor Webster were Councillors Best, Eaton, Taylor, Troy and Webster.

The General Manager requested those Councillors supporting the nomination of Councillor Vincent to raise their right hand. Councillors voting in support of Councillor Vincent were Councillors Graham, Greenwald, Matthews and Vincent.

Councillor Webster was declared duly elected to the office of Deputy Mayor for the term 2015/2016.