WYONG SHIRE COUNCIL

MINUTES OF THE EXTRAORDINARY MEETING OF COUNCIL

HELD IN THE COUNCIL CHAMBER WYONG CIVIC CENTRE, HELY STREET, WYONG ON 15 SEPTEMBER 2010 COMMENCING AT 5:00:00 PM

PRESENT

Councillors R L Graham (Chairperson), G P Best, D J Eaton, L A Matthews, E M McBride, J J McNamara, W R Symington, D P Vincent, L D Webster and S A Wynn.

IN ATTENDANCE

General Manager, Director Shire Planning, Director Shire Services, Director Corporate Services, Acting Manager Future Planning, Manager Development Assessment and Project Director Mardi to Mangrove Project.

Manager Governance and Administration and two administration staff.

The Mayor, Councillor Graham, declared the meeting open at 5.00pm and advised in accordance with the Code Of Meeting Practice that the meeting is being recorded.

Councillor Matthews read an acknowledgment of country statement and delivered the opening prayer.

APOLOGIES

There were no apologies.

1.1 Mayoral Report for 2009-10

Councillor Vincent left the chamber at 5.00 pm and returned to the chamber at 5.01 pm during consideration of this item.

RESOLVED unanimously on the motion of Councillor GRAHAM:

That Council receive the Mayoral report for the past 12 month term, 2009 – 2010.

FOR: COUNCILLORS BEST, EATON, GRAHAM, MATTHEWS, MCBRIDE, MCNAMARA,

SYMINGTON, VINCENT, WEBSTER AND WYNN

AGAINST: NIL

2.1 Election of Mayor and voting procedure

RESOLVED unanimously on the motion of Councillor GRAHAM and seconded by Councillor EATON:

That the voting for election of Mayor proceed by open voting.

FOR: COUNCILLORS BEST, EATON, GRAHAM, MATTHEWS, MCBRIDE, MCNAMARA,

SYMINGTON, VINCENT, WEBSTER AND WYNN

AGAINST: NIL

The General Manager advised that nominations for the position of Mayor had been received for Councillors Eaton, Matthews and Wynn. Councillors Eaton, Matthews and Wynn had accepted their respective nominations.

The General Manager requested those Councillors supporting the nomination of Councillor Eaton to raise their right hand. Councillors voting in support of Councillor Eaton were Councillors, Eaton, Graham, McNamara and Webster.

The General Manager requested those Councillors supporting the nomination of Councillor Matthews to raise their right hand. Councillors voting in support of Councillor Matthews were Councillors Matthews, McBride, Symington and Vincent.

The General Manager requested those Councillors supporting the nomination of Councillor Wynn to raise their right hand. Councillors voting in support of Councillor Wynn were Councillors Best and Wynn.

The General Manager announced that as Councillor Wynn received the lowest number of votes she would now be excluded.

The General Manager requested those Councillors supporting the nomination of Councillor Eaton to raise their right hand. Councillors voting in support of Councillor Eaton were Councillors Best, Eaton, Graham, McNamara and Webster.

The General Manager requested those Councillors supporting the nomination of Councillor Matthews to raise their right hand. Councillors voting in support of Councillor Matthews were Councillors Matthews, McBride, Symington, Vincent and Wynn.

MINUTES OF THE Extraordinary Meeting OF COUNCIL 15 September 2010 contd

The General Manager advised that no Councillor had a clear majority and therefore proceeded to draw lots for the exclusion of one of the two Councillors nominated.

Lots were drawn and Councillor Eaton was declared duly elected to the office of Mayor for the term 2010/2011.

2.2 Election of Deputy Mayor

RESOLVED unanimously on the motion of Councillor GRAHAM and seconded by Councillor SYMINGTON:

That the voting for election of Deputy Mayor proceed by open voting.

FOR: COUNCILLORS BEST, EATON, GRAHAM, MATTHEWS, MCBRIDE, MCNAMARA,

SYMINGTON, VINCENT, WEBSTER AND WYNN

AGAINST: NIL

The General Manager advised that nominations for the position of Deputy Mayor had been received for Councillors Graham and Symington. Councillors Graham and Symington had accepted their respective nominations.

The General Manager requested those Councillors supporting the nomination of Councillor Graham to raise their right hand. Councillors voting in support of Councillor Graham were Councillors Best, Eaton, Graham, McNamara and Webster.

The General Manager requested those Councillors supporting the nomination of Councillor Symington to raise their right hand. Councillors voting in support of Councillor Symington were Councillors McBride, Matthews, Vincent, Symington and Wynn.

The General Manager advised that no Councillor had a clear majority and therefore proceeded to draw lots for the election of one of the two Councillors nominated.

Lots were drawn and Councillor Graham was declared duly elected to the office of Deputy Mayor for the term 2010/2011.

The Mayor, Councillor Eaton then assumed the chair.

2.3 Ordinary Meeting Schedule

Councillor Vincent sought to add an additional item to the Motion to amend starting times of Council meetings.

The Mayor ruled that this matter was out of order and suggested that it would be more appropriate to raise this issue as a Notice of Motion to allow time for councillors consideration.

RESOLVED unanimously on the motion of Councillor VINCENT and seconded by Councillor BEST:

- 1 That Council <u>amend</u> Clause 6 (2) of its Code of Meeting Practice to omit Ordinary meetings of Council during the NSW public school holidays.
- 2 That Council <u>cancel</u> meetings currently scheduled for;

26 Jan **2011** 25 Jan **2012** 13 Apr **2011** 11 Apr **2012** 13 Jul **2011** 11 Jul **2012** 26 Sept **2012**

3 That Council hold the Mayoral election in September 2011 on a Wednesday that does not fall within the school holiday period.

FOR: COUNCILLORS BEST, EATON, GRAHAM, MATTHEWS, MCBRIDE, MCNAMARA,

SYMINGTON, VINCENT, WEBSTER AND WYNN

AGAINST: NIL

THE MEETING closed at 5.26pm.