## WYONG SHIRE COUNCIL

# MINUTES OF THE EXTRAORDINARY MEETING OF COUNCIL

**HELD IN THE COUNCIL CHAMBER** WYONG CIVIC CENTRE, HELY STREET, WYONG ON 21 September 2011 **COMMENCING AT 5:00 PM** 

## **PRESENT**

Councillors D J Eaton (Chairperson), G P Best, R L Graham, L A Matthews, E M McBride, J J McNamara, W R Symington, D P Vincent, L D Webster and S A Wynn.

## **IN ATTENDANCE**

General Manager, Acting Director Environment and Planning Services, Acting Director Infrastructure Management, Director Corporate Services, Director Community and Recreation Services and General Counsel.

Manager Corporate Governance and two administration staff.

The Mayor, Councillor Eaton, declared the meeting open at 5.00 pm and advised in accordance with the Code of Meeting Practice that the meeting is being recorded.

John Hardwick delivered the opening prayer and Councillor Matthews read an acknowledgment of country statement.

### **APOLOGIES**

There were no apologies.

#### Mayoral Report for 2010-11 1.1

RESOLVED unanimously on the motion of Councillor EATON and seconded by Councillor GRAHAM:

That Council <u>receive</u> the Mayoral report for the past 12 month term, 2010 – 2011.

COUNCILLORS BEST, EATON, GRAHAM, MATTHEWS, MCBRIDE, MCNAMARA, SYMINGTON, VINCENT, WEBSTER AND WYNN FOR:

AGAINST: NIL

# PROCEDURAL MOTION

RESOLVED unanimously on the motion of Councillor EATON and seconded by Councillor GRAHAM:

That Council <u>consider</u> Item no 2.1 on Election of Mayor and Voting Procedure in three separate parts.

FOR: COUNCILLORS BEST, EATON, GRAHAM, MATTHEWS, MCBRIDE, MCNAMARA,

SYMINGTON, VINCENT, WEBSTER AND WYNN

AGAINST: NIL

# 2.1 Election of Mayor and Voting Procedure

The General Manager advised that a nomination for the position of Mayor had been received for Councillor Graham. Councillor Graham accepted his nomination.

Councillor Graham was declared duly elected unopposed to the office of Mayor for the term 2011/2012.

RESOLVED unanimously on the motion of Councillor EATON and seconded by Councillor WYNN:

2.1.1 That Council <u>confirm</u> its previous decision to pay a fee to the Mayor and Deputy Mayor in accordance with the fee set by the Local Government Remuneration Tribunal.

FOR: COUNCILLORS BEST, EATON, GRAHAM, MATTHEWS, MCBRIDE, MCNAMARA,

SYMINGTON, VINCENT, WEBSTER AND WYNN

AGAINST: NIL

RESOLVED unanimously on the motion of Councillor GRAHAM and seconded by Councillor WEBSTER:

2.1.2 That Council <u>confirm</u> its previous decision to pay a fee to the Deputy Mayor, deducted from the Mayoral Fee.

FOR: COUNCILLORS BEST, EATON, GRAHAM, MATTHEWS, MCBRIDE, MCNAMARA,

SYMINGTON, VINCENT, WEBSTER AND WYNN

AGAINST: NIL

RESOLVED unanimously on the motion of Councillor EATON and seconded by Councillor GRAHAM:

2.1.3 That Council <u>endorse</u> the amount of the fee payable to the Deputy Mayor to be set at 14% deducted from the Mayoral Fee.

FOR: COUNCILLORS BEST, EATON, GRAHAM, MATTHEWS, MCBRIDE, MCNAMARA,

SYMINGTON, VINCENT, WEBSTER AND WYNN

AGAINST: NIL

# 2.2 Election of Deputy Mayor

The General Manager advised that nominations for the position of Deputy Mayor had been received for Councillors Vincent and Wynn. Councillor Vincent withdrew his nomination. Councillor Wynn accepted her nomination.

Councillor Wynn was declared duly elected unopposed to the office of Deputy Mayor for the term 2011/2012.

**THE MEETING** closed at 5.24 pm.