Central Coast Council Minutes of the Ordinary Meeting of Council Held in the Council Chamber 2 Hely Street, Wyong on 23 September 2019

Present

Mayor Jane Smith and Councillors Greg Best, Jillian Hogan, Kyle MacGregor, Doug Vincent, Troy Marquart, Chris Burke, Chris Holstein, Bruce McLachlan, Jilly Pilon, Rebecca Gale Collins, Louise Greenaway, Jeff Sundstrom, Richard Mehrtens and Lisa Matthews.

In Attendance

Gary Murphy (Chief Executive Officer), Boris Bolgoff (Director Roads, Transport, Drainage and Waste), Julie Vaughan (Director Connected Communities), Scott Cox (Director Environment and Planning), Dr Liz Develin (Director Governance), Jamie Loader (Director Water and Sewer), Ricardo Martello (Executive Manager Innovation and Futures) and Craig Norman (Chief Finance Officer).

The Mayor, Jane Smith, declared the meeting open at 6.30pm and advised in accordance with the Code of Meeting Practice that the meeting is being recorded.

The Mayor, Jane Smith read an acknowledgement of country statement.

The reports are recorded in their correct agenda sequence.

1.1 Disclosures of Interest

Moved: Mayor Smith Seconded: Councillor MacGregor

885/19 That Council receive the report on Disclosure of Interest and the fact that no disclosure was made be noted.

For: Unanimous

2.1 Election of the Mayor

Moved: Mayor Smith Seconded: Councillor Hogan

- 886/19 That Council determine, for the purpose of section 290(1)(b) of the Local Government Act 1993, to conduct an election of the Mayor by the councillors as required during the month of September.
- 887/19 That Council determine, for the purposes of clause 3(2) of Schedule 7 to the Local Government (General) Regulation 2005, that if more than one candidate is nominated for election as Mayor, the method of voting as being Open voting.
- 888/19 That Council note, that, as the 2020 Local Government Elections are scheduled for 12 September 2020, that the elected Mayor will hold office for one year.

For:Against:Mayor Smith, Councillors Matthews,Councillor GreenawayMehrtens, Sundstrom, Gale Collins, Pilon,McLachlan, Holstein, Burke, Marquart,Vincent, MacGregor, Hogan and BestEnter State Stat

Following determination of the method of voting, the Mayor, Jane Smith gave a brief speech and vacated the Chair.

The Chief Executive Officer delegated the role of Returning Officer to the Director Governance who commenced the conduct of the election of the Mayor by Open Voting as resolved by Council.

Nominations for Mayor

The Returning Officer, advised that the following nominations for Mayor had been duly received and accepted:

- 1. Councillor Burke
- 2. Councillor Matthews

Election of Mayor

The election for Mayor was conducted by the Director Governance as Returning Officer, with the **first ballot** for Mayor as follows:

| Councillor Burke: 7 votes | |
|---------------------------------|---|
| Voting for Councillor Burke: | Councillors Gale Collins, Pilon, McLachlan, Holstein, Burke, Marquart and Best. |
| Councillor Matthews: 8 votes | |
| Voting for Councillor Matthews: | Councillors Smith, Matthews, Mehrtens, Sundstrom, Greenaway, Vincent, MacGregor and Hogan. |

The Director Governance, in her capacity as the Returning Officer, declared that Councillor Matthews having the majority of votes was duly elected as the Mayor of Council.

The Mayor, Councillor Matthews then assumed the Chair, as Chairperson of the meeting.

The meeting was then adjourned at 6.39pm for a period of 5 minutes to allow Mayor Matthews to take the chair.

The meeting resumed at 6.44pm.

The Mayor, Lisa Matthews gave a brief speech upon resumption of the meeting.

| 2.2 | Election of a Deputy Mayor |
|-----------|--|
| Moved: | Councillor MacGregor |
| Seconded: | Councillor Vincent |
| 889/19 | That Council resolve, for the purposes of sections 231(1) and 231(2) of the Local Government Act 1993, to elect a Deputy Mayor for a period of approximately one year from the date of this meeting and until offices are declared vacant prior to the conduct of the 2020 Local Government Election. |
| 890/19 | That Council resolves, for the purposes of clause 3(2) of Schedule 7 to the Local Government (General) Regulation 2005 the method of voting as being Open voting. |
| For | |

For: Unanimous The Chief Executive Officer delegated the role of Returning Officer to the Director Governance who commenced the conduct of the election of the Deputy Mayor by Open Voting as resolved by Council.

Nominations for Deputy Mayor

The Returning Officer, advised that the following nominations for Deputy Mayor had been duly received and accepted:

- 1. Councillor Burke
- 2. Councillor Smith
- 3. Councillor Holstein

Election of Deputy Mayor

The election for Deputy Mayor was conducted by the Director Governance as Returning Officer, with the **first ballot** for Deputy Mayor:

| Councillor Burke: 5 votes | | |
|--|---|--|
| Voting for Councillor Burke: | Councillors Gale Collins, Pilon, Burke, Marquart and Best. | |
| Councillor Smith: 8 votes | | |
| Voting for Councillor Smith: | Mayor Matthews and Councillors Smith, Mehrtens, Sundstrom, Greenaway, Vincent, MacGregor and Hogan. | |
| Councillor Holstein: 2 votes | | |
| Voting for Councillor Holstein: | Councillors McLachlan and Holstein. | |
| Director Governance, in her canacity as the Peturning Officer, declared that | | |

The Director Governance, in her capacity as the Returning Officer, declared that Councillor Smith having the majority of votes was duly elected as the Deputy Mayor of Council.

The Mayor, Councillor Matthews then congratulated Councillor Smith on her election as Deputy Mayor and declared the meeting closed.

The Meeting closed at 6.53pm.